Skip to content
March 5, 2010 / georgetteculley

Tea tan…

Being bronzed and beautiful is expensive. The average price of a good bottle of fake tan is approximately £30, and being an ‘impoverished’ student, I would rather spend that on a night out. As I stared at my pasty body I remembered my Nan telling me about her beauty regime in World War 2. When she was really poor she would rub used, wet tea bags on her legs to create the illusion of stockings.  I thought I’d take her tip to the next level.  So I tossed a couple of tea bags into the tub, sat back and relaxed.  Ok, I’m not going to lie, you do feel like you’re bathing in a sewage plant. Not quite the tranquilization a bottle of Radox offers. But pain is beauty right?  I manoeuvred myself in the bath, making sure every inch of my skin was soaked in tea. I read somewhere that tea bags are good for dark circles and bags under the eyes, this particular evening I looked like I was carrying more bags under my eyes than a luggage shop. So after the hot water had drained all the colour from the tea bags, I popped them under my eyes. Fifteen minutes later I removed them, excited to see how my tea tan was developing. It was developing alright…I looked like I was suffering from Jaundice. Far from the bronzed goddess I was hoping to meet. Note to self. Tea is good for drinking, not tanning. Do not try this at home.

14 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. mmaukkingston / Mar 5 2010 5:53 pm

    Lol I can’t believe you actually put yourself through that!

    What one will do to make oneself attractive

  2. hannahgale9 / Mar 5 2010 5:57 pm

    Being a self-confessed ‘tanorexic’ (despite it only being March i have stood outside on more that one occasion in nothing but a bikini and ludicrous amounts of tanning oil) i was really excited to see if the tea worked. I’m pretty upset it didn’t as searching Ebay for cheap fake tan is getting increasingly annoying. However my new alternative is teletext holidays, not so sure it’s going to work out any cheaper though…

  3. Carly / Mar 5 2010 9:20 pm

    Very funny Jools, “pain is beauty”…for sure! x

  4. lauren790 / Mar 6 2010 12:29 am

    That just made me laugh so much! I’ve heard some crazy tips but never that one! I remember when I was younger being told that cutting up potatoes and putting them on your face makes your complexion even. The things people come up with amaze me!

  5. JennyTalls / Mar 6 2010 11:32 pm

    George- loved the entry. My dad was for ever keeping tea bags in the fridge for his bags. He’s actually 106 but you wouldn’t ever guess it! As for the tanning, I think the Victorian view of ‘the tanned are banned’ is making a comeback. So hopefully no more worrying about finding the funds for the St Tropez xxx

  6. smerin / Mar 7 2010 12:16 am

    Lol should’ve let Freaky drink your bath water! xx

  7. Chris / Mar 7 2010 1:43 pm

    very good… maybe you can take inspiration from Cleopatra and try a milk bath next? ;-)

    http://www.lindisima.com/en/milk_bath.htm

  8. Fraser / Mar 7 2010 8:41 pm

    Just add milk and 2 sugars, Ha!

    Multi purpose bath like it.

  9. ThatCafeGuy / Mar 8 2010 5:02 pm

    It’s upsetting, because this sounds a ‘ligit’ concept, and until you surfaced from the bath of tea, i bet you felt confident :P. Try coffee next time. We all know Coffee is better anyway. Better drink, better tanning.
    x
    =]

  10. Maria / Mar 10 2010 11:32 pm

    That doesn’t even sound like a good idea. Sorry it didn’t work out for you.

  11. linda / Mar 18 2010 5:27 pm

    All I can say is thank goodness ‘pale is interesting’ is back in fashion. There’s nothing more ageing or unsightly than leathery orange skin. And you probably smell of old teabags -unless you use the herbal ones..

  12. sarah / Apr 21 2010 6:04 pm

    i have recetly been reading up on this and found that if you actually rub the tea bags themselves on you it creates a great natural glow.

    also if you boil about 10 tea bags in a pan and then let it cool remove tea bags and place in a spray bottle after your bath spray it on and it will look fab! it gradualy stains the skin like lipstick does.

    • georgetteculley / May 13 2010 9:25 pm

      oooh amazing! Thanks for the tip Sarah I will try it, and of course report back!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

