Skip to content
March 24, 2010 / georgetteculley

Cling film…For lunch or for weight crisis?

Cling film...invented for food, not skin

I wish I looked this good wrapped up!

I’m a little bit shy when it comes to exercise and super fit freaks scare me. The most exercise I get is when I’m cavorting on tables, ‘a bit’ tipsy. Yes, it’s good exercise, but the calorific alcohol counteracts this. Then there’s my ten minutes walk to and from the bus stop every day, and I hardly think that gets the fat burning. So I couldn’t believe my ears when I heard wrapping yourself in cling film helps burn the rubber! According to fitness fanatics it makes you sweat, which helps budge those stubborn pockets of fat and water retention. Obviously, if you wrap yourself in it then exercise, it’s more effective. But I skipped the exercise part and decided to sleep in it instead. So, I had a cold shower (to speed up my metabolism) and got down to business. I wrapped myself head to toe, sporting a rather unsexy mummy image, then got in to bed. The first hour was bearable, I took pleasure in the sweating, reassuring myself it was working, and that I would wake up with Fern Cotton’s physique in the morning. However, as the hours passed, I tossed and turned itching from the cling film. In the end, contrary to popular belief, beauty was not worth the pain. I tried to rip the plastic off me, but I’d wrapped myself so deeply in it, it was hard to remove. I ended up clawing it off, and in the process, I took half my skin with it. This truly was an horrific and scarring experience. I would rather have Fern Britton’s body (pre weight loss) than Fern Cotton’s if this is the lengths I have to go through. Not one to try at home, or anywhere else for that matter.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Joshua Drew / Mar 24 2010 9:39 pm

    Georgie this is hilarious. I think the fact you’re not meant to sleep in it is why your skin may have become almost glued to the material. Perhaps next time you should just keep it on for an hour or so and go for a jog in the park, that way you might get it off easily. Not that I need to lose any weight what so ever, and for that matter nor do you, but thank you for the tip. I’ll be sure to tell my friends that this one is a no no.

  2. Louise / Mar 24 2010 10:00 pm

    Seriously Georgie,the things you put yourself through! Lol!! x

  3. Smerin / Mar 25 2010 2:44 am

    I’ve always wondered about this! I think you’d only sweat out water weight though, which you may as well just wee out and sleep normally! Kudos for trying it, you’re like the Bear Grylls of the beauty world xx

  4. Horace Mccall / May 29 2010 6:25 pm

    Haha I’m actually the only comment to this incredible post.

  5. Tony Layton / May 30 2010 12:01 pm

    You’ve done it again! Great writing.

Leave a Reply

